Rajasthan tour planner tripadvisor

Parliament House Delhi

The Parliament House or Sansad Bhavan is house where our elected parliamentarians sit and discuss a number of important issues related to national interest. Located on the northwest of Vijay Chowk in New Delhi, Parliament House, originally called as House of Parliament consists of the two Houses the Upper House and the Lower House. The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is known as the Upper House whereas Lok Sabha is the Lower House. Both have different chambers in the Parliament with an office of the President of India. It is observed as the supreme legislative body of the country.

Architecture of Parliament House

The Parliament House is a huge circular, colonnaded building of sandstone located to the northwest of Vijay Chowk. The building comprises of three semicircular chambers for the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and a Central Library crowned by a 29.9m high dome over which now flaps the tri colors of the Indian flag. The three semi-circular chambers were originally designed for the Chamber of Princes, the Council of State and the Legislative Assembly. The building has a diameter of 170.69m and covers 2.02 hectares in area, with colonnaded verandahs lined with 144 identical columns each 8.23 m high enclosing the entire circumference.